I Do Not Believe in Soul Mates.


No

 

Call me unromantic, call me an asshole. I don’t believe in never ending love. I don’t believe in a love so strong that it conquers all. AND I CERTAINLY do not believe that, “all you need is love.” According to the Beatles.

Let me explain.

As much as its comforting to believe that there can be only one other person in the world for us, its very dangerous. If soul mates existed wouldn’t divorce cease to exist? What would be the point of “moving on” if you lost your soul mate to tragedy? No one could possibly compare to this person, your only alternative would be suicide.

I do believe that some people can live their lives to an extent that their whole being is encompassed in a spouse. I also believe that you can find someone you want to spend your whole life with and then one day *POOF* a completely different person will walk into your life and you’ll develop feelings for that person. Even though you’re married, its possible to be attracted to other people. We all wish that once we’re married, our sexual attraction button would shut off for everyone but our spouse. Unfortunately that’s not the case.

There are people out there reading this and cringing and judging. Before you do that let me set the record straight on what I do believe.

I believe in realistic love. 

I believe that we are all looking for someone who puts up with our bullshit. Someone who has qualities we want in our lives, someone whose bull shit we’ll put up with and a person who we’ll grow with as we get older.

That’s it.

Right now ask yourself why you’re attracted to your significant other.

If your answer is, “I don’t know, I just know that I love them.” You might want to reconsider why you are with that person.

If your answer is, “every time I freak out they calm me down and keep me grounded.” That’s a very specific reason and one that will ground you through out the years.

I also don’t believe people should dip their fries into Mayonnaise but that’s a blog post for another day.

In closing I leave you with this:

dude

 

About MaximumWage

Everyday I put on my "I can do it" underpants followed by my I'm trying to lose weight pants, followed by my "I'm still kind of young" shirt followed by a belt and then polish it off with a nice smile to finish the ensemble. I don't wear shoes.
This entry was posted in Jobs, Life and the American Way and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Do Not Believe in Soul Mates.

  1. Nadine says:

    You totally had me until the part about fries dipped into mayo. Guess you aren’t my soulmate! *sob*

  2. This is by far the best thing I’ve read today

  3. French fries in mayo??? Definitely gross.

Leave a Reply

