I killed osama bin laden…. Kind of…


The day after the world learned that Osama bin Laden had been killed, I went to my local Starbucks to purchase a coffee as I had a hankering. Seeing as I didn’t have cash, I handed my debit card to the surly looking young woman behind the counter. Because I bank with Navy Federal Credit Union, the young woman upon seeing my debit card and ringing up my purchase casually asked, “Oh are you in the navy?” To which I lied and responded, “Yes, I am a Navy Seal.” Her eyes bulged and she attempted to ask me, “Did you know any of the Navy Seals who killed Osama Bin Laden?”

But I cut her off saying, “I don’t want to talk about it.”

She handed back my debit card with a shaky hand. After receiving my drink I looked back at her while walking out. She was furiously texting or typing something on her cell phone. I’m sure she was letting everyone know she had met a “Navy Seal.”

What is the moral of this story?

  1. This is a great story to tell friends when the topic comes up.
  2. Sometimes a white lie to improve someone’s day isn’t a bad thing.
  3. I can’t go that Starbucks anymore.
  4. I am not a Navy Seal, but I am a liar.

Answer: 3

 

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in All about me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I killed osama bin laden…. Kind of…

  1. BrainRants says:

    Shamelessly awesome. You should have closed the deal…

  2. Good one! Can’t go back to Starbucks. Bummer.

  3. You @$$!!! I love you!

  4. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award « The Perfect Nose

Leave a Reply

