I Have Been Wrong… Once…


We’ve all been there, whether we admit it to ourselves or admit it publicly. We’ve been wrong. Made the wrong guess, let our confidence get in the way of our common sense. What makes it even more complicated is when you start lying to yourself even though you know deep down you’re wrong. You know the drill.

Do you remember this famous sketch?

Let me take you back to a time when Bill Clinton was president and I was a lot younger. At the height of the UNA-BOMBER drama my family was on a road trip in Virginia. We took a lunch break at our local Burger King to refresh our empty stomachs and while we were walking back to the car after engorging on whoppers, my brother and I saw a guy who fit the above description. YES, He looked exactly like that dude, a guy wearing aviators and a hoodie. My brother and I were so convinced that we had spotted the Una bomber that we wanted my dad to call the FBI immediately. Our little teenage minds couldn’t grasp the fact that some guys prefer getting a BK value meal sporting some sweet shades and a hoodie to keep the warmth in. God bless my dad for refusing our teenage demands.

I remember being so butt hurt about not tipping off the FBI;  for years after when news about the Una bomber would crop up in the paper or TV, my brother and I would both glance over at my father with the biggest “TOLD YA DAD” look.

Little did we both know that years later a man named Ted Kaczynski would be revealed as the Una bomber. Not only did he not live in Virginia rather he lived in a shed in Montana, wreaking havoc through his mail bombs that he MAILED from Montana. Meaning he very rarely got out of the big sky country.

My other favorite kind of mistakes are during relationships. But that’s a blog for another time.

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in All about me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

