30 Day Blog challenge Day 2


Day 2: Something I feel strongly about

Things are about to get intense. I mean its easy to just grab a soap box and start going to town on any subject I want. When I initially started writing this blog I did write a few times on political topics, but my draw and focus was more towards comedy. Politics and Religion are very touchy subjects and so I won’t be talking about them. Rather I will speak on a topic that is both near and dear to me but may or may not interest anyone.

I am of course talking about humor and comedy.

I don’t call myself an expert on comedy but I do know a few things. The truth is very funny. This book which was part of my assigned reading in college (For an improv class) really began to open my eyes as to what comedy is. How many of us has said something¬† in a mixed group of people only to discover everyone laughing? Thinking, “WOW! I like this feeling.” Only to try again without nearly the same response.

Children do not have a filter, they can be reciting exactly what you said days or even weeks before. Which is why I love kids, they really haven’t picked up on the lies we as adults say everyday to each other. “Mommy why are you talking to Mrs Smith? You said you didn’t like her yesterday!” While this does make for an awkward situation, the comedy gold is priceless.

In closing the next time you watch a standup special, reflect on how even standup comedians will have truth in their comedy bits. Whether its a mountain or a grain of sand, there is truth in the most outrageous observations on race, religion and people.

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in 30 day Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Day Blog challenge Day 2

  1. I think I need to go out and see a comedian now. For research you know.

  2. Pingback: Day 2-4 | Life After School

Leave a Reply

