30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 22


My Academics

As some of you may know I majored in Theatre in college. I did it because I always liked making people laugh and loved acting as well. (It was also easy doing theater in college.) To be honest about my academics it has made me a little self conscious, let me explain. For those of you without college degrees maybe some of you might understand what I’m about to say.

You see as a Theatre Arts Major it has become common place for my friends and even acquaintances to challenge me on statements I’ve made.  I’ll make a statement about politics like, “You see the president believes-” “Wait what did you study in college?” someone I know will ask. “Theatre” my response. “See I knew you were unqualified to make statements about politics.”

The fact that I studied a non rigorous topics in college is probably one of the reasons why I’m so fastidious about facts. One could say it has made me smarter; being challenged on my beliefs has given me a confidence on wide ranging topics.

Actually, I’ve been considering going back to school. Maybe studying  computers or Economics or even anything that’ll pay the bills. What would you suggest I study?

 

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in 30 day Blog Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Day Blog Challenge: Day 22

  1. Paula Turner says:

    Although I don’t know what you should study, I do understand the “not feeling quite smart enough” feeling. I don’t have a degree and spent years feeling like my opinions were less meaningful.

Leave a Reply

