The Letter Y vs the Letter I


The English language is difficult even for native speakers. I have convinced myself that every single letter in the alphabet had a war or a fight to determine how certain words were spelled. This is how I envision a disagreement between the letters I and Y went down.

I: FINE! I’ll get Ski and you get Sky we’ll split it.

Y: FINE! Even though Ski should be spelled Skee. Also, I get to be a vowel.

I: NO! only sometimes when the rest of us are on a break,  As in the word SKY just like we  discussed.

Y: So I’m not a vowel in YOU, but I am a vowel in TRY.

I: Yeah exactly, but-

Y: NO! I’m a vowel! OU compliment each other in through or thou, just as I compliment A and O in boy, toy or bay.

I: That is completely different-

Y: No its not! It isn’t spelled Bai, because that looks stupid .

I: Shutup! Guess what? I’m now spelling You like U as in the letter U.

Y: Fine, I’ll spell Why like Y.

I: So? I don’t care.

Y: I don’t care either.

There is a small break and quick silence between them both.

I: How come its spelled Bait and not Bayt? Or Trait not Trayt?

Y: I DON’T KNOW!? ITS NOT MY FAULT!!

I: Just face it Y, you’ll never be a real vowel.

The letter O calmly walks up at the two letters arguing.

O: You two done? the letter Y and I have an Orgy to go to.

Y: ORGI? OR ORGY?

I: DON’T TAKE SIDES O!

The letters O and Y walk off.

The letter I stands there all alone.

I: I feel so alone.

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in Jobs, Life and the American Way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Letter Y vs the Letter I

  1. becca3416 says:

    I feel like I O You a compliment for this hilarious post. Damn vowels. They are so finicky.

  2. People who learn English as a second language get MAD respect from me

  3. Storkhunter says:

    So that’s how the story if O came about. The couldn’t decide on the spelling of orgy

  4. Jillian says:

    This is exactly how it happened.

Leave a Reply

