Learning To Love Yourself: The Bloggers edition


LIkingyourstatus

Not too long ago I was going through the ole’ WordPress reader and catching up on those blogs that I’m subscribed to. It was on this occasion that I happened to make a startling discovery.

It was while I was on Becca’s blog 25toflyΒ  that I saw something that made me do this:

shockedtumblr

You see its not a crime to “like” your own blog. No not at all, far from it. Nor is it a crime to “like” your own Facebook status, hell giving yourself a high five isn’t even a misdemeanor in most states. However, there does remain a certain social stigma.

Exhibit A:

Ohwhatsthis

Facebook has a ton of groups dedicated to poor lonely souls “liking” their own posts.

highfiving Highfiving2

So I ask you fellow WordPress Bloggers, what are we to do? Do we form a Posse? A congressional committee? A kangaroo court? A mind our own business because it was an honest mistake group on Facebook?

All I know is that part of being a blogger is learning to love yourself. Sometimes in between the bottles of booze, fat free salad dressing and coconut milk I’ve found to love my blog posts. Its not every day mind you, but its hard. Its a daily struggle to love this place where we put ourselves out there and try our hardest to be funny/insightful/dramatic/interesting. Is it so bad to want to be loved?

I say to you, love yourselves and what you do. You have infinite value and you are interesting even if you have to like your own blog post. Even if no one else reads it, love it yourself.

No go cry it’ll make you feel better. I know I might.

arielcrying

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in Dear Something or Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Learning To Love Yourself: The Bloggers edition

  1. becca3416 says:

    And why haven’t you liked THIS post yet? Go for it. Feels good, man. Oh and how did you know I am a sucker for GIFS? *slow clap*

  2. becca3416 says:

    Reblogged this on 25ToFly and commented:
    Because GIFS and Moses.

  3. J-Dub says:

    I can like my own status, but I can’t lick my own balls…yet.

  4. I think it’s fine to like your own post. Fine fine…self-love is healthy.

  5. rossmurray1 says:

    I did it because I saw others do it. Then I felt a burning shame.

    Wait, we’re talking about dressing up as shepherdesses here, right?

  6. rebecca2000 says:

    Become the master of your own domain… so to speak. LOL

  7. aneroidocean says:

    You have 2 blogs? Huh?

  8. Whenever I high-five myself it just turns into applause.

  9. iRuniBreathe says:

    I have never ever liked my own post, but now that you mention it I am not sure why. I always notice when an author likes their own post and I think it’s cute. Like they are proud of what they’ve done.
    I’ve also never high-fived myself in public. And as to that other public display… well, I’m flexible enough, but female, and not a dog and just don’t want to.

    • MaximumWage says:

      Well I don’t blame you for not wanting to take care of your own business… I too wasn’t sure why I wouldn’t like my own post. I admitted to someone else that when facebook first had the “like” your own post, I did that and got publicly shamed for doing so. I think that’s the only reason why I haven’t done it on WordPress. The shame still haunts me.

      • iRuniBreathe says:

        I know bloggers who write for different blogs and like/link to it, or blog on different topics on their own separate blogs. They often like “each other’s” posts and that always makes me laugh. It took me a little while to realize one of them was the same person!

      • MaximumWage says:

        Ohhh really? So they were being sneaky about it. It would crack me up too.

  10. Licking your own balls eh? I’ll have to ask a dog. Maybe we’re just assuming they do it because they find it enjoyable, maybe it’s actually gross πŸ™‚

  11. pretzellogic says:

    this is a fun piece, becca. i haven’t liked any of my own post/status before, but i’m guilty of following my own blog. it’s more like high fiving myself down low πŸ™‚

  12. twindaddy says:

    I liked my own post once. Once. I never made that mistake again.

  13. workspousestory says:

    Too funny! Nice blog you got there πŸ˜‰

  14. List of X says:

    I have accidentally liked my post once or twice, but only because the “Like” button was too close to whatever button I was trying to click in the mobile WP reader. I “Like” my posts by clicking on “Publish”. Though, I have followed my own blog….

  15. dearferrero says:

    Hahah. I’ve always felt tempted to like some of my own posts, but I’ve never had the nerve to do so. Perhaps I should just go for it. Thanks for giving me the chuckles!

  16. One time my daughter read my blog and liked my posts. I got an email from WordPress that said “You’re so vain, you probably think this post is about you.” Of course it was. And even though it was my daughter liking it, I would have done it myself anyways. Because I am that funny.

  17. Adam S says:

    I am a big fan of the self-liking concept. Becca, you have reason to like yourself as well.

    Now I’m off to chug a bottle of wine…

  18. Great post, outside of the chilling reminder that I’m unable to lick my own balls. If I did, I’d do so oh-so-lovingly and with long lapping motions.

    Seriously, a great topic. I don’t like my own in the clicking the button sense, but I do love my posts. Related to this, for a while I tried everything possible to make my posts as accessible, “safe”, and no swearing because I wanted to get Freshly Pressed. But it wasn’t me. So, I’ve gone back to being myself. Because I love my stuff better than some of that crap.

    • MaximumWage says:

      Its ok if you can’t lick your own balls… Lots of dudes aren’t able to. Don’t feel bad about it.

      ALWAYS be yourself in your blog. I’ve found its better to be happy with your post then seeking accolades. If its good enough it will happen. If not there’s always room to improve.

  19. cestlavie22 says:

    I found this from the reblog on 25tofly and I am so glad I did. This post is hilarious and true! We should love what we write no matter if other people love it or not. Lets make our posse secret handshake synchronized pats on the back πŸ™‚

  20. Pingback: Add New Post « iRuniBreathe

  21. Damn that Becca and her confidence. One day I’ll like my own post.

  22. I don’t “like” my own posts, but I liked this one!

  23. can’t say I read the other messages posted on here, but LOL. Good observation. The only thing of my own I’ve “liked” is my page and my WP and that’s just so I can see how it posts to other viewers. Other than that, eh.

    • MaximumWage says:

      Really? Just so you can see how it posts to other viewers? πŸ˜‰ but seriously I have yet to like anything I’ve posted… Even though I’ve been very tempted.

  24. marymtf says:

    What an inspiration you are. I’m off home to give myself some love and a high five.

  25. I can’t make myself like my posts – but only ’cause I think I’d get confused. Especially when I’m older with Alzheimers, “Did I write this? Or just visit it? Why is my little gravatar there??”

Leave a Reply

