Google Search and Downton Abbey


downton-abbey-logo

So I will admit here to everyone interested that I watch the British TV show, “Downton Abbey.”

Its a good show and you should probably check it out. I realize its not for everyone, but Its one of the reasons Sunday night has any meaning for me. I got to thinking about the last episode, and mainly how TV shows can effect information and what we search on Google. For those of you who watch the show it was a pretty big deal huh? (Don’t worry no big spoilers in this blog post)Last Sunday’s episode was so big it made its way into Google Search terms.

From the random reactions I found on twitter:

Twitter1 Twitter2 twitter3 twitter4

These 4 are from the UK and Ireland. Downton Abbey premieres in the fall for the European folk and for the Americans its in the spring. You can tell by the dates Oct 15th for England, and Jan 27th for the Americans:

twitter5

Now you’re probably thinking “WTF?” “I don’t care about dates and people on twitter being angry.” “Just write something funny you idiot Moses.” Yeah sorry I’m getting to my point.

I don’t know if you know this fellow people of the internet, but you can find out how often a term is searched in Google.

That particular episode of Downtown abbey Featured the term, “Pre-eclampsia.”

IMDBepisode

So I did some digging and VOILA! PROOF.

Who was searching for the term:

googlesearch2

How many times they searched:

Googlesearchtrend

Its too early to tell about the Americans, but when the data comes out you can expect a follow up report.

Thanks for reading fellow data nerds and have a great day!

Also, I realize I haven’t published anything funny in a while. It’ll be back to normal after this one I swear.

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in A Magical world filled with mystery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Google Search and Downton Abbey

  1. rebecca2000 says:

    Well one American checking in. I did try watching that show… it wasn’t for me.

  2. The Cutter says:

    You ever think that when you die and reach the gates of heaven, the only thing that they will judge you on is your internet search history? If so, heaven’s gonna be one empty place.

  3. Katie says:

    Well, it’s totally for me! I cried like a baby, and when my tears dried I googled, yeah, you guessed it….

  4. saradraws says:

    I don’t know anything about this show, except that it’s not Downtown Abbey like I thought until this post. Couldn’t understand how so may people were spelling it wrong.

Leave a Reply

