Why We Are Fat


In another series of posts where I “RANT” or “GET MAD AT THE STATE OF THINGS.”

I present to you,

Why We Are Fat.

I recently went shopping for Applesauce and spotted some Mott’s apple sauce on sale.

The kind pictured below:

Motts

I love cinnamon, but on a whim I looked at the ingredients and spotted something.

highfructosejpg

Since when have we been putting MORE sugar into something that already has sugar? Is this the tip of the iceberg? Am I going to find bananas  and beer with high fructose corn syrup in it? When I go to my local Dairy Queen for a nice 2000 calorie Heath bar blizzard; I fully expect the employees to be squeezing out the last drops from the high fructose corn syrup vat onto my ice cream treat. Now that I think about it, pretty much anything that is both fast food AND sweet has been dunked in high fructose corn syrup.

But applesauce?

SOMEONE TALK ME DOWN?! PLEASE!

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in Jobs, Life and the American Way and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Why We Are Fat

  1. Pyx says:

    Why we are fat: we stopped making our own apple sauce

    Mott’s does have an All Natural no sugar added sauce, I am looking at it right now – however the whole corn syrup thing I understand to be a preservative AND a sweetener. I think it has just gotten a bit out of control.

    Don’t worry Wage, no fear, go get some apples and I can show you how to make your own….

    • MaximumWage says:

      THAT SOUNDS AWESOME! I’d love to make my own applesauce

      • Pyx says:

        I get the Golden Delicious but sometimes I go for the green tart ones.

        Use a good jar: you can recycle one, just make sure to clean it out really well with hot water and soap and let it dry. The lid should be free of mold or icky stuff and make a good seal but choose one that will be adequate for how much you are willing to eat.

        Peel the apples, cut them in half and take out the hard stuff inside (and pits).

        Put them in a pot with enough water at the bottom of the pot so they do not stick: half a cup should be okay.
        Cook them on medium heat till they are nice and soft (should be able to fall apart with your spoon)

        Put them in mixer or blender for a smooth sauce, but you know what I have crushed them with a hand masher and left it a bit chunky (yumm)

        put them back in the pot this is where you decide how much sugar you want to add. I have not used any sort of sugar replacement type ingredients but I am sure you could. I suggest tasting a bit and slowly add sugar, taste and go from there if you want more.
        Sometimes I have not needed to add sugar at all.

        Bring it to a boil while stirring constantly till some of the moisture boils off about 15 minutes.

        Then remove from heat and let cool.

        Then you get to add other fun stuff if you want: small dash of cinnamon. Nutmeg and all spice are nice too – again go small because it is easier to add than take away!

        Put this in your clean jar and it should be good for up to two weeks in the fridge but a good sniff test is always recommended. The cool thing is, you can make it anytime you are in the mood for some and I sometimes make it along with a pork loin for my husband just as a side dish.

        And you can blog your cooking experience! Have fun.

      • MaximumWage says:

        This sounds awesome! I feel like if I did a cooking blog post it might completely destroy my “street cred.” Maybe if I messed up totally and accidentally made explosives from apples THEN it would be a good blog post. Anyway I’m going to try it. Applesauce that is, not explosives.

      • Making your own applesauce is the best! I’ve thrown strawberries in while it was cooking before – voila! Strawberry applesauce!

      • MaximumWage says:

        Whoa! How is that? My mind is having a hard time conceiving a taste like that.

  2. I was gonna say the same thing Pyx said. I useta buy the no sugar-added apple sauce when I was on weight watchers. It wasn’t bad. But honestly, if your goal is to eat healthy, you really can’t eat anything that’s been processed or prepackaged. That would include your snacks,cheese, cerioul (shit how do you spell that?) all beverages, except water (seriously, you can’t trust that shit either, full of lead, pesticides, and probably dead people), meat=steroid heaven, veggies=GMO plus some steriods and insecticides throw in….Actually, you just can’t eat or drink ANYTHING. I promise, those pounds will come melting off like you’d never believe. Unfortunately, you’ll also die in a week too. But man, it would be an AMAZING WEEK.

    All kidding aside, you could try cooking. You’d also have to pretty much buy into the organic mania. That’s how I finally learned how to keep the weight off until this year. It was an amazing 4-year stretch of pure awesome though.

  3. rossmurray1 says:

    Thanks for making me look at the bag of dried cranberries I’ve been eating: sugar, sunflower oil. Huh?

  4. Jimmy&Kendra says:

    I always make my applesauce, but you would be amazed at how much stuff has added sweeter. The one I hate more than high fructose corn syrup is when they add a no calorie sweetener, they give me crazy migraines and are in almost everything because they are sweeter than regular sugar but people who are counting calories will eat or drink it.

  5. dearferrero says:

    Would you like us to write a letter to Mott’s? We’ve already come up with a kick-ass opening line: “Dear Mott’s,”.

Leave a Reply

