Why I Closed My Facebook Account


facebook-closed

Last December I made one of the biggest social media decisions in my life. I completely removed my Facebook account. (Twitter as well)

The reasons are three fold.

1. I joined Facebook back in 2005 because I wanted to know if this cute girl in one of my classes was single. Katie D As I’ll call her, was married two years ago. Looks like I missed the boat on that one.

2. I had over 200+ friends but only talked to 20 of them in a year. Sorry to the guy I worked with a couple times in 2009 or that friend of a friend who friended me after hanging out one time. I was too lazy to remove you as a friend so I just closed shop.

3. The only person liking my Facebook status was my mom.

I’ll be honest, I haven’t had a lot of great news to share on Facebook both personally or professionally. Maybe that’s why I only posted funny (more like unfunny) little quips or observations.  This probably forced most of my friends to unsubscribe from my Facebook feed. I mean who wants to post funny stuff on Facebook, when you can just post it to your blog? Duh.

Things I’ll miss:

  • All of the happy birthday posts
  • Facebook stalking the hot ladies
  • An excuse to waste time
  • Not forgetting birthdays

A couple of weeks ago I came across this news article stating that Facebook will lose 80% of its members by 2017.

I guess the moral of the story is,  if you want something to be uncool, make sure your parents do it.

If you’re thinking about doing what I did and unsure of how to completely remove Facebook, click here.

I highly recommend you do this, my productivity has gone through the roof.

It looks like I’ll have to concentrate on staying engaged in the real relationships I have left. Darn it…. So much work! Also,If you want to challenge me to a game of Words with Friends (I’m pretty good FYI) my user name is VANWISER.

Don’t hesitate! Close Facebook today!

About MaximumWage

I don't wear shoes. And I habitually reinvent myself, like the wheel.
This entry was posted in All about me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Why I Closed My Facebook Account

  1. Pyx says:

    I never had a facebook account – but this would seriously make me consider closing it if I had.
    Glad you are happy with your decision

  2. MNT says:

    I’m actually considering just closing it for the week (after reading this), for especially gaining work productivity. If I do, I’ll let you know what my experiences are! Thanks for posting.

  3. Meghna N says:

    Been eight months since I deleted my Facebook account permanently. Life is better.
    So good decision, sir!

  4. I deleted my facebook for the entire year of 2012 and made a new one in 2013. Deleted that one, started another a few months later, deactivated it and a few months later, got back on. I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before I can let it go completely. I do feel better without one, but somehow feel so out of touch when I don’t. Oh well. On another note, I was reunited with a good friend after losing contact for 10 plus years, so that’s a neat thing.

    • MaximumWage says:

      Wow If you deleted it for 2012 I’m surprised you reopened a new one. That seems it would be a huge hassle. I mean are your friends like “WTF not this again?” I am happy for you, reuniting with an old friend would be impossible without Facebook, so it does have its uses. 🙂

  5. Words with friends is like scrabble if I remember correctly?

    Damn, I’m soooo bad at scrabble… (no seriously. My friends hate playing with me – I’m the 2 letter/3 letter word champ… ha >.<)

  6. I closed my Facebook..never felt better…I got time and an idea of who really is my friend and want to keep in touch with me in reality…

Leave a Reply

